So Many Opportunities for Creativity

The AWP Conference Reminded Me that Writing Can Be Play

April 2,, 2023

Dear Writers,

This is from my Substack newsletter, Writing with Hart: News and Opportunities for Writers. I’m so glad you’re here!

First, a shout-out to my new friend Andrea Ross, who wrote this gorgeous piece titled “…to play, to engage, to stop and pay attention” for Terrain.org. Andrea and I, along with three other authors, sat on a panel at last month’s AWP conference about how to promote your published books with short articles and essays in magazines and newspapers.

Spending four days in the company of thousands of other writers, I remembered how writing can be playful. I saw literary journals in the form of postcard collections and comic books. I met a man who walked the Camino Real in California and wrote a book about it. I met an indigenous woman who turned government documents dictating mandatory boarding school into found poems colored to look like beadwork. I met a memoir writer who told the story of her grandma, a burlesque dancer, through poetry and old photos.

I returned home feeling free to play with form and ideas in a way I haven’t for a long time. I hope you’re feeling that same freedom, as well.  Here are a couple of websites to peruse if you need a bit of inspiration for how to play with form and content: An Introduction to the Lyric Essay (bookriot.com) & The digital literary revolution – The Writer (writermag.com)

What I’m Publishing

My agent’s pitching my top-secret book proposal right now—all I can say is that it’s a nonfiction book for middle-schoolers, the first of its kind, and I’m super-excited. Stay tuned!

In March, I got all fired up and wrote, pitched, and sold a short piece to HuffPost Personal in about two hours. You can read it here: I Wrote One Of The Few Tween Books About Down Syndrome. A Couple Of Sentences May Get It Banned. | HuffPost HuffPost Personal

Did the essay generate some hate mail? It did. Did a troll write a one-star review of my newest book on Amazon? She did. Was it worth it to speak my truth? You bet. (If anyone would like to review Daisy Woodworm Changes the World on Amazon to counteract the heinous review, I’d be most grateful.)

If you’re in or around Oregon, check out my article How to Give Back to Your Favorite Oregon Hiking Trails – Travel Oregon . Myself, I’m going to put on a pair of pink wings and head out to my local hiking trails to pick up dog poop bags left behind by owners, just like the Poop Fairy I interviewed for The Problem with Dog Poop Bags | The Bark

A Few Cool Resources for Writers

  • It’s National Poetry Writing Month! You can immerse yourself in this genre thanks to the thoughtful and generous creator of NaPoWriMo—a website with daily poems, prompts, and other inspiring resources for poets and writers.

Conferences, Residencies, and Calls for Submissions

  • The Willamette Writers Conference offers an exciting hybrid event August 2-6. I’ll be teaching two workshops in person on August 5th—”The Art of the Query Letter” and “Biplanes, Juggling Clubs and My Naked Great Grandmother: How You, Too, Can Turn Historical Research into Fiction.” See you in Portland!
  • And, because I’m writing this newsletter on the eve of my first colonoscopy, here’s the most hilarious call for submissions I’ve seen in a while: Dayna McAlpine at HuffPost wants pitches centered around “gut health, poo, IBS, etc.” (I shudder to think of what etc. could be.) Pitch Dayna at dayna.mcalpine@huffpost.com

And now, can I tell you a secret? I adore working as an independent editor and writing coach. I’ve amassed so much knowledge about writing over 22 years, and it’s thrilling to help storytellers find direction, refine their drafts, and learn how to get their work into the world. Do you need an independent editor and/or writing coach? Let’s talk! Details right here!

Much gratitude,

Melissa

P.S. Here’s me with my guy surrounded by cherry blossoms in Washington, D.C.

 

Published by Melissa Hart

​I'm an Oregon-based author, journalist, public speaker, and instructor for the MFA in Creative Writing program at Southern New Hampshire University. My essays and articles have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, CNN, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles Times, Real Simple, Orion, High Country News, The Rumpus, Brevity, Woman's Day, The Advocate, Parents, The Chronicle of Higher Education, Hemispheres, and numerous other publications. I'm the author of Daisy Woodworm Changes the World (Jolly Fish, 2022), The Media Adventurer's Handbook: Decoding Persuasion in Everyday News, Ads, and More (World Citizen Comics, 2023), Better with Books: 500 Diverse Books to Ignite Empathy and Encourage Self-Acceptance in Tweens and Teens(Sasquatch, 2019), the award-winning middle-grade novel Avenging the Owl(Sky Pony, 2016), the memoir Wild Within: How Rescuing Owls Inspired a Family (Lyons, 2007), and the memoir Gringa: A Contradictory Girlhood (Seal, 2005). I'm a contributing editor at The Writer Magazine, and I speak frequently at K-12 schools, writing conferences, libraries, universities, and bookstores. I grew up near Los Angeles with my younger brother, who has Down syndrome. I live in Eugene with my husband and teen daughter, where I love to run and hike long-distance, cross country ski, kayak, cycle, cook, and roam the Pacific Northwest as an amateur naturalist.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started