What Makes You Fearful & Deeply Uncomfortable?

Go out and pursue it.

December 2, 2023

Dear Writers,

Last Tuesday, I walked into a hospital room and found a man lying on the ground groaning in pain. It was up to me to figure out what was wrong with him and how to help. It turned out he’d fallen and had a horrific contusion on one leg, plus a broken femur. He needed a traction splint and an ambulance.

Readers, this was one of the most terrifying moments of my life. But it wasn’t real; rather, the man had agreed to act a part so that I could demonstrate my knowledge of patient assessment and traction splints as part of a grueling final exam on Outdoor Emergency Care for Backcountry Ski Patrol.

The class took 10 weeks, and I spent dozens and dozens of hours reading and making flash cards and studying and practicing skills on anatomically-correct plastic torsos to learn how to care for someone in case of heart attack or stroke, seizure or shock, strain or sprain or break or evisceration. It was one the most challenging events in my life. Most of the students were half my age; many had previous medical experience, while I have an MFA degree in Creative Writing…no Anatomy or Biology required.

Over a single term, I went from a person who couldn’t stand the sight of blood or the thought of internal organs and bodily injuries to a fairly competent, fairly chill emergency responder. I’ll be proud to wear my red ski patrol vest with the white Red Cross symbol this winter, and you know I’m going to get a banger of an essay out of the experience. I’m already looking for what I might immerse myself in next year, with an eye toward getting certified in scuba diving. I’m terrified of swimming underwater with a tank; I also know that terror and discomfort make for excellent personal essays.

What are you doing these days that makes you deeply uncomfortable even as it helps you grow as a human being and a writer? I’d love to know.

Where I’ll Be Soon

December 9, 1:30-5 PM Author & Artists Fair at the Lane County Fairgrounds in Eugene, Oregon. Stop by and say hi; I’d be delighted to sign copies of my two middle-grade novels Avenging the Owl and Daisy Woodworm Changes the World, as well as my nonfiction title Better with Books: 500 Diverse Books to Ignite Empathy and Encourage Self-Acceptance in Tweens and Teens.

April 4-8, 2024—’m teaching a lively and supportive workshop titled “Crafting Your Memoir” at the stunning Playa Summer Lake. If you’re interested, email me at melissahartsmith(at)gmail(dot)com and I’ll let you know the minute registration opens. Space is limited, and I’d love to work with you.

What I’m Publishing

I got to interview a cat psychologist for this article “Cat expert explains why your cat is always acting weird – Orange County Register (ocregister.com)

Yes, I’m still working on the piece about vaudeville and racism and homophobia and my showbiz great-grandparents for Hidden Compass; it will appear online with amazing photos early next year.

I’ll have a piece about Backcountry Ski Patrol and multigenerational friendships in Insider next week; in the meantime, you can read my previous Insider piece here!

My agent, the fabulous Jennifer Unter, is shopping around my new nonfiction book proposal to editors. Stay tuned; I’m dying to tell you about this project!

A Few Cool Resources for Writers

·        Here’s a useful article on how to write an Instagram bio that helps to build your brand as a writer. Instagram Bio Ideas for Freelance Writers: A Simple Guide (makealivingwriting.com) (I’m think I’m doing it wrong; my IG feed is full of bugs and slime molds.)

·       Here’s a list of Ted Talks guaranteed to inspire writers: The 8 Best TED Talks for Writers | Scribendi

·        In what my neighbor Molly calls “the dark months,” I’ll be turning to this list to study storytelling techniques and broaden my perspective: 99 Movies & Shows That Will Change How You See The World – The Good Trade . The sun sets at 4:30 PM in Oregon for the next month, so I’ll arm myself with a big bowl of popcorn and work my way through this list.

·        Bonus Content: I really loved this article from The New York Times“The Joy of May/December Friendship.” I’m excited to look beyond my majority-Gen X friendships to include Gen Z, Millennials and Boomers!

Conferences, Residencies, and Calls for Submissions

·        Dirt Magazine wants essays about television. The editors write: “Beyond TV, Dirty publishes pieces covering all kinds of cultural ephemera: movies, books, fashion and style, art, furniture and design, scene reports, shopping, video games, music, politics & media.”  

·        The lovely folks at Hippocampus Magazine want your flash creative nonfiction, memoir excerpts and personal essays. Fee-free submissions between December 1st and December 14th!

·        Muse Magazinefor which I wrote this articleHOW DOWN SYNDROME MAKES A BRAIN Beautifully DIFFERENT (magzter.com)—seeks articles and profiles about the Summer Olympics. This is a smart and sophisticated kids’ science magazine; their publication is gorgeous! Deadline for pitches is December 15th.

·        Have you written and/or illustrated a published picture book for children? Check out the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation Children’s Book Award which bestows an award of $5,000 to the winner(s). No entry fee; deadline is December 15th.

·        Are you looking to jumpstart your writing in 2024? Check out the Winter Poetry & Prose Getaway in New Jersey, January 12-15th.

·        The behemoth that is the AWP (Associated Writing Programs) Conference and Bookfair takes place February 7th-10th in Kansas City. I’ll be on two panels: “Bullet Journaling, Car Retreats & Barney: 10 Hacks for Writing while Parenting and Writing” and “Intellectual Disability: An Inclusive Panel.” Come over and say hi!

·        If you’re up for an Alaskan adventure that combines writing with hiking in spectacularly beautiful scenery, check out The North Words Writers Symposium from May 29th until June 1st.

Okay, that’s all for now. Let me know if you want me to include any writing resources in my January issue, and I’ll do so!

Much gratitude,

Melissa

P.S. Here’s me with my younger brother Mark at his favorite bowling alley. He’s the inspiration for my middle-grade novel, Daisy Woodworm Changes the World and for my forthcoming book Down Syndrome Out Loud: 20+ True Stories to Change Your Mind about Disability (Sourcebooks, 2025). 

Published by Melissa Hart

​I'm an Oregon-based author, journalist, public speaker, and instructor for the MFA in Creative Writing program at Southern New Hampshire University. My essays and articles have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, CNN, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles Times, Real Simple, Orion, High Country News, The Rumpus, Brevity, Woman's Day, The Advocate, Parents, The Chronicle of Higher Education, Hemispheres, and numerous other publications. I'm the author of Daisy Woodworm Changes the World (Jolly Fish, 2022), The Media Adventurer's Handbook: Decoding Persuasion in Everyday News, Ads, and More (World Citizen Comics, 2023), Better with Books: 500 Diverse Books to Ignite Empathy and Encourage Self-Acceptance in Tweens and Teens(Sasquatch, 2019), the award-winning middle-grade novel Avenging the Owl(Sky Pony, 2016), the memoir Wild Within: How Rescuing Owls Inspired a Family (Lyons, 2007), and the memoir Gringa: A Contradictory Girlhood (Seal, 2005). I'm a contributing editor at The Writer Magazine, and I speak frequently at K-12 schools, writing conferences, libraries, universities, and bookstores. I grew up near Los Angeles with my younger brother, who has Down syndrome. I live in Eugene with my husband and teen daughter, where I love to run and hike long-distance, cross country ski, kayak, cycle, cook, and roam the Pacific Northwest as an amateur naturalist.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started